PROTECTING THE PRIVACY
OF THE LIVING
Terms and Definitions
GEDCOM is an acronym for GEnealogical Data COMmunications. Within the WorldConnect Project, "GEDCOM" indicates an individual family tree or file. A more detailed explanation of what a GEDCOM is, and how it is used within the WorldConnect Project, is available here.
When you create a GEDCOM file, the fields containing information in your genealogy file (birth, marriage, baptism, etc.) are mapped to the appropriate GEDCOM tags (e.g., BIRT, MARR, BAPM). A listing of the most common tags and their definitions is available here.
When you upload your family tree, you are transferring a copy of your file to the WorldConnect Project. It does not alter or remove the family tree on your computer.
More Terms and Definitions
Advanced Setup/Edit Form
You determine how (or if) the WorldConnect Project displays living individuals by the options you choose on the advanced user setup/edit form.
When uploading a GEDCOM to WorldConnect, you can choose to clean or remove the records of living individuals from display. (The records will still be in your file. Only what is displayed on the Internet is altered.) Living in this case is defined as anyone in your family tree born (or christened) in 1930 or later, that does not have a death or burial year included, unless you change the default settings. The year 1930 was used as the default setting because the 1930 U.S. census has been released as public information. You can change the default to any year prior to 1930 if you wish. For example, if you have a person in your file who was born in 1921 and is still living, you can change the default to 1920 so that their full name will not be displayed When there are no birth or christening dates, the WorldConnect program attempts to approximate the year of birth from other information in the GEDCOM file.
Clean means the entries for living individuals will be displayed in WorldConnect but the given names will be replaced with the word "living." The advanced user setup/edit form gives you a multitude of ways to protect the privacy of the living in your file. Included are the choices to treat tags as notes or to remove specific tags. You will find a listing of common tags here.
Remove means your family tree will not display entries for any living individuals. You will still need to determine how you want notes, source information, and tags to be shown for those who are not living.
You have additional options to protect the privacy of the living, including removing notes or source information from display.
You may also remove specific GEDCOM tags or request the program's living finder to treat specific tags as notes. If you list more than one tag, separate them with a comma, but leave no spaces (for example, CAUS,BAPM,BAPT).
Excluding specific individuals
Other researchers may ask you to remove their name(s) from your file. You can remove specific individuals from your file, remove specific individuals and their descendants, or mark specific individuals as living by using the "individuals to remove" section of the advanced user setup/edit form.
Go into your file and locate the individual's number, then list that number in this section listing one entry per line. If you want to remove an individual and all his/her descendants, you will need to do two entries (two lines) as in the fourth example shown below.
Removal of an individual, or his descendants, has no effect on the display of a spouse; they must be removed (listed) separately.
Example Results In I0001 removes individual I0001 I0001,R* removes descendants of I0001 I0001,R*# removes descendants of I0001, and adds a comment to the entry for example, a comment reading "this person requested that they be removed" I0001
removes individual I0001 (top line), and his/her descendants (second line) I0001,L marks individual I0001 as living I0001,L* marks descendants of I0001 as living
If you wish, you can add a message that will be attached to each of the living individuals in your file. For example, "Living individual, some details withheld."
If you are changing the options for an existing file, leave the location of your file blank on the user setup/edit form. You only need to upload your file when you have made a change to the content of the file.
WorldConnect SetUp/Edit Form | WorldConnect FAQS
WorldConnect Main Page | HelpDesk Main Page
Check the side panel for related links.
Still need help? Contact our HelpDesk.